top of page

MY YEAR IN MUSIC '23

Hello, friends!

You might think that it’s too soon to sum up the whole year, because it’s not even December. But “My Year in Music” is definitely over for me. There are no plans to post new music this year.


There was only one song I recorded and posted and it is the one you know – “Maybe”. This song means the world to me for many reasons. First of all, I wrote it, because I was inspired by Marcella Detroit’s Songwriting Master Class I attended in February and March. Secondly, she was so nice and helped me with intonation in some parts of the song. This song was also my victory and much needed escape from my usual sound. I overcame myself. And recorded the song in my not so good times. Later, I decided to support the release with piano mix.


I co-wrote the lyrics for a song called “Bloom” with my songwriting classmates and Marcella Detroit herself during her songwriting master class. I sang background vocals on it and programmed some simple rhodes piano for that song, too. Maybe, one day, it will appear somewhere where you can listen to it.


And that, my friends, is all that happened in my year in music. I posted only one song. It didn’t get much recognition at first, though later it was nominated for Song of the Year, Best Song Lyrics, Best Song Production and Best Pop Song in Museboat’s Musies Awards 2023. I truly want to thank everyone who has spent their time voting for “Maybe”. It means so much to me. You can still vote until 6th December at museboat.com/mma.html. Also, thank you Museboat and thank you Michael Fisher (Fishmix) for supporting me throughout the whole year. Last, but not least, thank you, my friends in music, for your likes, comments, support and friendship.


However, I’d lie if I said I wasn’t working on more songs. I was. I wrote several songs and started working on two of them, but I never finished anything. I haven’t found my inner peace yet and I can’t create anything while my mind is not fully set on music.


And my next year’s resolutions? New album. Or several songs at least. I want the album to be about the people and for the people, so the album title will be “People By Songs”. I will also revisit three of my older songs for this album, the rest will consist of new songs, including “Mercenaries” and “Maybe”.


The world is a sad place these days. So:

Be nice. Be kind. Be a friend.

It’s the only way to be happy.

Let’s see for ourselves.


Enjoy Holidays with those you love and have a successful New Year 2024!


Thank you.

Marek.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
bottom of page